2010 Sustainable Design Competition Results

 2010 Sustainable Design Competition Winning Submissions
 2010 Program

First Place: Annie Scheel is a young professional that graduated from Columbia University’s Graduate school of Architecture, Planning and Preservation in 2008. Her advisor was Paul Coughlin. View the winning design here

Second Place: Sara Petit and Marco Virgili are young professionals that graduated from Penn state University in 2009 and 2007. View the winning design here

Third Place: Per Kaatman and Linda heiman are students from Chalmers University of technology in Goteborg Sweden. Their advisor was Björn Gross. View the winning design here

Honorable Mention: Amanda Bardman and Sara Schmidt are students at Philadelphia University. Their advisor was Chirstopher Stromberg. View the winning design here

Honorable Mention: Adam Lemire is a young professional who graduated from Temple University in 2008. View the winning design here

People’s Choice: Richard Malone is a student at University at Buffalo Suny. His advisor was Dennis Andrejko. View the winning design here



The Delaware Valley Green Building Council (DVGBC) hosted its sixth annual sustainable design competition. The competition encourages college and university students and young professionals to partner around an applied learning experience that focuses on sustainable design. With sustainable transportation at the forefront of Philadelphia’s current urban issues, the competition challenged participants to design a sustainable bicycle transit center. This year’s participants include students from Drexel University, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia University, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Lehigh University, Harrisburg Area Community College, Delaware Technical & Community College, among other regional and national schools. New to this year’s competition, individual participants included young professionals within three years of graduation from national and international locations.

2010 winners were selected by the following judges:

Spencer Finch of the Pennsylvania Environmental Council
Katherine Gajewski of the City of Philadelphia
David S. McHenry of Erdy McHenry Architects
Todd Woodward of SMP Architects
George Wilson of Meyer Associates

An awards ceremony for all participants was held on May 5, 2010, as part of the DVGBC’s ‘Best of Greenbuild’ event. Cash prizes were awarded up to $1,000 for first, second, and third place winners. In addition, frst place winners received a travel stipend to attend the 2010 Greenbuild International Conference and expo this november in Chicago, Illinois. For complete details on the 2010 competition visit: www.dvgbc.org/sustainable_design_competition

Special thanks to our sponsors: The Environmental Home Store, Jones Lang Lasalle, the Barkan Foundation, and Turner Construction.